Laupre

March 6, 2008

PDX Biking Guitar Case

Filed under: Projects — laupre @ 7:36 pm

I’ve entered this month’s Craftster challenge: Represent your hometown. I decided to pay homage to Portland’s Bike culture with a Guitar case I made for a friend of mine. He’s big into rebuilding bikes, so that was the theme I used.

bag.jpg
All of the bike parts were recycled from old bikes.
Click more to see some more details!
bb1.jpg
This was the bag my friend got with the guitar he bought used. It was a little gross and definitely needed to be replaced.
bb2.jpg
All of the bike parts I used were a little old, so I spent a couple of hours cleaning up all the pieces. The chain had to soak in degreaser for a couple of days and them I scrubbed each individual link with a small brush. Finally I went over the whole thing with my dremel to give it a little bit of shine.
bluegrn.jpg
The lining inside is two layers of batting free-motion quilted with the shapes of bikes and the work “bike”. The area that covers the head of the guitar is lined with a layer of thick vinyl to prevent the strings from damaging the lining like the original bag.
I chose the green and blue because the colors are so true to the colors you see here in Portland. Even in the winter there’s plenty of green, and when it isn’t raining, the sky is such beautiful blues.
tire.jpg
Here’s the bag with my friend’s bike. I had a lot of fun adding all the little details to this bag, and I’m so happy with how it came out. The best part, though was when I gave the bag to my friend and he loved it! For a few more photos and info you can check out the page on Craftster (and if you’re a craftster member, be sure to vote!)
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Shocking Blue Green Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

