Laupre

September 4, 2008

My Summer Sewing Space

Filed under: Uncategorized — laupre @ 4:41 pm

This summer I faced quite the dielemma.  I had two personal truths conflicting.  First, If the temperature is above 70 degrees it is physically impossible to remain indoors, and second, a day shouldn’t pass that i don’t sit down and spend some quality time with my sewing machine.  How could I bear sitting inside when i know it’s a beautiful day?  I knew my problem was solved when I found this amazing desk abandoned on the side of the road.

It’s huge!

I mean, really, really big! It took three people to drag it home and get it onto the back porch.  It’s vintage, all solid wood, so it weighs a ton.  It is about 3.5 feet tall, 5 feet long, and almost 3 feet from front to back.  The fact that there isn’t a single place I could put it inside the house couldn’t stop me from falling in love with it and once I had it I knew it would be a perfect new home for my sewing space.

click more to see more photos and read more blahblahblah…

Lucky for me I have this fantastic, large back porch that is completly covered and stays dry even on the rainiest days.  I can now sew myself silly while enjoying the sweet summer breezes and indirect natural light.  The metal walls and doors for the large shed out there is perfect for holding up fabric swatches, pattern blocks, and notes thanks to a handful of magnets.  The ironwork on the outside of my bedroom window makes a perfect home for my cones of thread and my computer is close enough inside that I can run an audio cable from my computer out the window to a set of speakers set up on the desk.  I’ve even pulled my computer itself out the window a couple of times when I absolutely had to get some work done on it and couldn’t make myself go inside!

These drawers are big enough to hold all of my sewing essentials neatly and near by.  They are as deep (front to back) as the desk so I can really fit a lot in there.  There are three drawers down the right side of the desk and a wide, shorter drawer across the lap area.  A flat writing surface slides out from above the top drawer on the right for even more convenient desktop real estate.

On the left hand side, what appears to be three more drawers actually opens up as a cabinet type door to reveal a big shelf.

It’s a perfect home for my sewing machine!

But wait, it gets better!

Not only does the shelf slide out from inside the desk, thanks to an ingenious set of hinges it also easily pulls up and secures iteself at table height.  It uses the metal bit on the inside of the door to add extra stability.  The design was originally intended to hold your typewriter, but to my delight it is just perfect for my sewing machine, leaving me all that fantastic desk space for cutting and everything else.

Look at all that space!

I don't usually need all of that space, so this is how it is most of the time.

I don't usually need all of the desktop space, so this is how I have it most of the time.

I like to sew as close to my ironing board as possible so that I don’t have to get up every time I want to iron something.

I said this thing is big!

I said this thing was big!

There are apartments in New York smaller than my desk.

I don’t know what I’ll do once the weather takes a serious turn towards cold, though. The roof keeps me safe in the rain (and the tin gives it that fantastic tinkling sound) but there aren’t any walls!  I guess I’ll just have to suffer the colder months stuck inside sharing my sewing machine and computer on one desk again, but you can bet I’ll stay out there as long as I can!  I’ll just throw on some fleece wrist warmers and tough it out!

xoxoxo

Thanks for stopping by!

2 Comments »

  1. kudos on your new sewing desk, truly that is the best of both worlds! sewing AND enjoying time out of doors! that retractible shelf for the sewing machine is awesome! hm…i never thought of sewing al fresco before, but will be eyeing my patio and imagining the possibilities….and i always thought that office chairs with wheels were specifically invented so we could iron our sewing projects without getting up!

    Comment by cat — September 16, 2008 @ 9:47 am

  2. Love it! I have spent the morning going through all of your past months and I am getting very inspired. I will be moving my sewing machine to my back porch today. :)

    Comment by Laura — June 14, 2010 @ 7:32 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Theme: Shocking Blue Green. Get a free blog at WordPress.com

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

