Laupre

September 6, 2008

Sushi for Dinner and Birthday Wish

Filed under: Uncategorized — laupre @ 10:45 am

I felt the urge yesterday to take a try at rolling sushi!  I decided to go with one of my favorites, the California roll.  It uses crab, cucumber, and avocado.  I think it came out really well.

The recipe is pretty simple.  I started the rice in the rice cooker and let that go while I prepared the other ingredients and set up my workspace.  The cucumber, avocado, and crab pieces got cut  into long strips.  In a frying pan I heated up about 3/4 cup of rice vinegar with salt and sugar, bringing it just to a boil once the rice was finished.  To roll I used nori sheets and a sushi rolling mat I picked up from the asian grocery around the corner.  The rice vinegar mixture got added to the rice and I tossed them together until it was all absorbed.  I was a little nervous about the actual rolling process, but it was so much easier than it looks!

I

I had a lot of fun with it, so I made up some other ones with some random goodies from my fridge.  There are also scrambled egg, cheese, and bacon rolls, and pepperoni and cream cheese rolls!

Regarding the second half of my post title, the Birthday Wish, I just wanted to share that it’s my birthday today!!  Wooo!  unfortunately I don’t have anything wild planned, but it should be a nice day anyway (here’s hoping those grey clouds break up soon so I can have some sunshine at least).  And the wish part?  There’s only one thing I’d really wish for if someone was looking to get me a gift.

It’s a tiny little camera made by minox.  It’s so absolutely cute!  The best part is that Minox has styled it to look just like the iconic Leica M3.  This new digital homage is decent midrange quality with a 5 mp ccd,  a 1.5 tft lcd screen on the back, an sd card slot, and a rechargeable li-Ion battery.  Now, I already have a great camera that i got a couple of years ago, but it’s a heavy beast!  It meets all of my requirements to make it my perfect camera specswise, but it’s sizecan make it a little hard to carry around.  This little guy would come with me everywhere making sure that I don’t have any more of those “I wish I had my camera” moments.

So if there’s anyone out there still looking for a gift for me (It’s okay, I don’t mind a late birthday present!) this camera can be found at a number of online retailers and runs in a price range just under $200.

http://www.digitalfotoclub.com/product-featuresb.asp?id=964729976

http://www.adorama.com/MXDCC.html?searchinfo=minox%20m3&item_no=4

Cheers!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

