Laupre

March 14, 2011

Me Made March Week 2

Filed under: Projects, Sewing stuff — Tags: , , , — laupre @ 6:28 pm

Photobucket

March 8th

I’m not really crazy about this outfit, but it was comfortable. I didn’t really have anywhere to go out to today, so it was just thrown together and worn around the house all day.  The dress is made from a comfortable sweatshirt fleece I reclaimed from a ginormous maxi length skirt.  Adding straps and darts took it from a horribly unflattering skirt to a cute little tunic.  I added the hat and boots to protect me from the rain when I ran to the store.

Me made:

sweatshirt fleece dress, knit skirt and reconstructed longsleeve

purchased: tights, hat

March 9th

another day of a just thrown together outfit.  This sweater skirt is a favorite cozy day choice though.  It’s made from mostly wool sweaters I bought by the pound at the bins thrifting.  It’s just rough and warm and comforting that I’ve worn regularly for about a year.

Me made:

longsleeve knit top, reconstructed skirt from sweaters

March 10th

I love this sweater.  I picked it up as a used, very large men’s sweater and resized it to fit and changed the neckline with some knit ribbing.  It’s a super soft and cozy cashmere in a lovely earthy green (that perfectly matches these socks!), doesn’t leave fuzz on anything, stretches and is the perfect weight to layer.  it started out like this:

Yes, the bottom of the armhole actually fell below my bust! I think it’s quite a bit more flattering now.  The resizing only took about an hour from the first photo to before photo to the after.  There’s something so satisfying for me to sew something up quickly in the morning to wear that day.  The idea of not just putting together and outfit in the morning, but actually putting together your clothes in the morning is exactly the kind of perk that keeps me sewing.

(you can click the images for a bigger version if you like)

I just cut off the sleeves and original collar, reshaped the the body part of the sweater, reshaped the sleeves, and put it all back together with the addition of a 1.25″ strip of green ribbing for the neckline.  You can always trace a well fitting garment of a similar stretch and weight of fabric to get your new pieces, use a pattern, or draft up your own patter from measurements, but I’ve done this same resizing so many times it’s almost automatic, and with a good knit sometimes it just needs to be close.

Me made: Sweater,  knit skirt. and leggings

Purchased: socks

March 12th

I had a dress I loved in a nice pale blue and brown floral print but it was sadly destroyed at a festival last summer when a stranger spilled a glass of beer down the front of me.  I washed the dress but could never get that awful stain out,so I took it apart and used the pieces to recreate it in this black and pale yellow cotton print. It looks so sweet with my cream petticoat, I think.  The cropped sweater shrug is my cashmere one mentioned but not seen on March 2nd.  This shrug gets a lot of wear because it’s just perfect for letting me wear my spring and summer dresses all year round.

Me made: Dress, petticoat, cropped sweater

purchased: leggings

March 13th

Yeah, I spent the a lazy Sunday at home in my pajamas, but at least they’re me made pajamas! The pants are awesome, a super fine baby weight denim with a very thin pink and white vertical stripe.  I made them elastic in the back and drawstring just across the front for what I consider to be the best of both worlds when it comes to comfort and securely keeping pajama pants on. They’ve got nice big pockets at the sides.  The sweater is a white, thin sweater knit, and the design was self drafted.

me made: Tank tops, sweater and Super super wide wide leg pajama pants.

March 14th

It was just another manic monday.  I didn’t manage to get a photo snapped during the day.  I hardly managed to even get dressed, but rest assured that it was a handmade outfit, just not interesting enough to recreate for posting.

So I finished another week of Me Made March and I’m happy to note that I haven’t had to repeat any outfits yet!  It’s actually a bit of a surprise to realize just how much of my wardrobe is handmade, but I think I’m getting close to running out.  I have completed a pair of pants to add to the mix, and a new sweatshirt that I can’t wait to wear.  The next thing I want to sew is a dress from some delightful bright royal blue knit I’ve had sitting in my “just cut into me already!” pile for a couple of weeks.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

